Centre for Himalayan Studies
UPR 299
     
 
 
Research Axes
> Politics, conflicts and justice
> Belonging, territories and changes
> History, knowledge and heritage
> Research on borderlands
politics, conflicts and justice

People's War in Nepal: an anthropological and historical analysis

Coordinator: Marie Lecomte-Tilouine

Joint research project funded by ANR over the period 2007- 2010

Members of the project:

Researchers from French government agencies :

Anne de Sales (CNRS Nanterre); Brigitte Steinmann (University of Lille); Satya Shrestha-Schipper , (Postdoctoral researcher, UPR 299 CNRS); Benoît Cailmail (PhD student, University of Paris I); Pustak Ghimire (PhD student, EHESS); Laurent Gayer (postdoctoral researcher, CSH Delhi).

Foreign researchers:

Ben Campbell (Manchester); Martin Gaenzsle (Vienna); Krishna Hachhethu (Kathmandu); Gregory Maskarinec (Hawaii); John Whelpton (Hong-Kong).

Pierre-Julien Quiers (journalist at France 3 Television); C.K. Lal (columnist for the Nepali Times); Sam Cowan (British Gurkha).

Objectives and organisation of the project

Our aim is to present an account of the Nepalese People's War by compiling a corpus of ethnographies of the conflict, by placing it in a historical perspective through studies of the forms of violence the country has endured and by analysing visual material produced by the Nepalese Maoist party.

The French members of the team hold workshops once or twice a month. In 2007 they all carried out project-funded fieldwork in Nepal, which will be the case for the two years to come. They invited their foreign partners to three workshops in July 2008 and a symposium is to be held at the end of the project.

Presentation of the project

Nepal, as we know it, was only formed at the end of the 18th century by the military unification of about fifty so far independent kingdoms. Thus, created by military means, the country had experienced neither colonisation nor civil war, so the revolution launched in 1996 came as an unprecedented movement. This does not mean that it is not to be understood as a consequence of history. Indeed, it emerged during a phase of weakness in royal power, led by popular contestation in 1990 and the multiparty Constitution drafted at the time. The emergence of a revolution in a nascent democracy may be interpreted as a sign of its failure; so many elements go towards fuelling this point of view that the situation is generally understood in these terms. Like Claude Lefort, we may also consider that the most revolutionary movement is actually the emergence of a democracy by the vacuum it creates at the very heart of power and that the Maoists reacted to this vacuum.

The warlike nature of the Hindu Kingdom of Nepal has to be acknowledged if we are to fully understand not only its political history, but also its social organisation: prior to its unification, every man was a potential warrior, and war formed a quasi-egalitarian context to counterpoint the hierarchical logic governing any other activity. These essential features of the army and war's role in governing society recently came to an end in Nepal due to the rise of elitism, only to be taken up again during the People's War.

War also includes the notion of "distress dharma", which allows the infringement of normal rules. The leaders of the People's War, in following in the footsteps of great conquering and reforming rulers, have in turn repealed fundamental Hindu laws within the scope of the revolutionary army. In the past, the roles of sacrifier, warrior, butcher as well as responsible male all overlapped, so the Red Army, largely made up of all those not falling into these categories (Brahmins, women and teenagers) was therefore revolutionary in its very composition, as it did not offer any circumstantial dispensation whatsoever of social rules, but transgressed them in an organized manner. The Maoist movement perhaps hereby proposes a very profound social reform, a kind of reversed situation by setting up a warlike organization where power struggles governing society (partly taking into account caste) are formed. In the past, the army reproduced those that were established by the caste system, yet making them more flexible.

The caste status of Maoist leaders, both Brahmins, nevertheless stands as an obstacle to the ideology of the "People's War". As neither warrior, nor member of an oppressed caste, faced with the vast almost organic body formed by the ruler and his army, they reserved essential room for "thinking" by setting up an organization where everyone makes an individual commitment, and where purification and self-criticism allow some distance to be maintained between theory and action and between leaders and activists.

It is also by virtue of its sacrificial character that the war forms an outstanding context. The warlike sacrifice is not a substitution between sacrifier and victim, as in the Brahmanic theory, but an alternative: to kill or to be killed. With the Maoist ideology, killing ceases to be a mutual alternative: one is ennobled, uplifted, the other is denied or despised. The asymmetry of the meaning of death is one of the traits which radically distinguish the People's War from previous ones, introducing the new character of the “martyr” (shahid), where in the past “heroes” (bir) confronted each other..

The Maoist Revolution in Nepal is a special case as it took place during the Internet era and received a lot of media coverage. Nevertheless, little fieldwork had been undertaken and hardly anything is known of the sociology of the movement. The originality of our project therefore lies primarily in its ethnographic approach, before and after the breakout of war, offering a perspective that few revolutionary movements have known. This will be completed by analysing how ordinary or organised violence has been dealt with in the course of history and by studying publications and Maoist visual documents, in order to explore the revolutionary universe "from inside".

Centre d'Etudes Himalayennes
UPR 299
     
 
 
Axes de recherche
> Territoires et Reseaux
> Normes, Valeurs et Usages
> Champs Religieux Complexes

 

La guerre du Peuple au Népal : une analyse anthropologique et historique

Coordinateur : Marie Lecomte-Tilouine

Projet de recherche collectif financé par l'ANR de 2007 à 2010

Membres du projet :

Chercheurs attachés à des organismes d'État français  :

Anne de Sales (CNRS Nanterre) ; Brigitte Steinmann (Université Lille) ; Satya Shrestha-Schipper , (Post-doc UPR 299 CNRS) ; Benoît Cailmail (doctorant, Université Paris I) ; Pustak Ghimire (doctorant EHESS) ; Laurent Gayer (post-doc, CSH Delhi).

Chercheurs étrangers :

Ben Campbell (Manchester) ; Martin Gaenzsle (Vienne) ; Krishna Hachhethu (Katmandou) ; Gregory Maskarinec (Hawai'i) ; John Whelpton (Hong-Kong).

Pierre-Julien Quiers (reporter France 3) ; C.K. Lal (éditorialiste Nepali Times) ; Sam Cowan (British Gurkha).

Objectifs et organisation du projet

Notre objectif est de rendre compte de la Guerre du Peuple népalaise par la constitution d'un corpus d'ethnographies du conflit, par une mise en perspective historique à travers l'étude des formes de violence qu'a connu le pays ainsi que par l'analyse des documents visuels qui ont été produits par le parti maoïste népalais.

Les membres français de l'équipe se réunissent une ou deux fois par mois à l'occasion d'ateliers de lectures et ont tous effectué une mission de recherche au Népal financée par le projet en 2007, comme ils le feront les deux années suivantes. Ils inviteront les partenaires étrangers à trois journées d'études en juillet 2008 et à un colloque ouvert au public à la fin du projet.

Présentation du projet

Le Népal n'a été formé qu'à la fin du 18e siècle, par l'unification militaire d'une cinquantaine de royaumes jusqu'alors indépendants. Ainsi créé à la pointe de l'épée, le pays n'a connu ni colonisation, ni guerre civile et la révolution lancée en 1996 apparaît donc comme un mouvement sans précédent. Cela ne signifie pas que l'on ne puisse la comprendre comme le fruit d'une histoire. En effet, son émergence s'est produite durant une phase d'affaiblissement du pouvoir royal, induit par la contestation populaire de 1990 et la Constitution multipartiste qui fut alors rédigée. L'émergence d'une révolution dans une démocratie naissante peut être interprétée comme le signe de sa défaillance et les éléments susceptibles de nourrir ce point de vue sont si nombreux que la situation est généralement comprise en ces termes. On peut également, avec Claude Lefort, considérer que le mouvement le plus révolutionnaire est bien l'avènement d'une démocratie, par le vide qu'il crée au cour même du pouvoir et que les Maoïstes répondraient à ce vide.

La nature guerrière du royaume hindou du Népal est non seulement essentielle pour comprendre son histoire politique, mais aussi son organisation sociale: avant l'unification, tout homme était un guerrier potentiel, et la guerre formait un contexte quasi égalitaire s'érigeant en contrepoint des logiques hiérarchiques présidant à toute autre activité. Or ces caractéristiques essentielles du rôle de l'armée et de la guerre dans la régulation sociale ont pris fin récemment au Népal suite à la montée de l'élitisme scolaire, pour être reprises dans la Guerre du Peuple.

La guerre contient aussi la notion de dharma de détresse, qui permet toute infraction aux règles usuelles. Se plaçant dans la continuité des grands souverains conquérants et réformateurs, les dirigeants de la Guerre du Peuple ont à leur tour abrogé des lois hindoues fondamentales dans le cadre de leur armée. Les rôles de sacrificateur, guerrier, boucher, mais aussi d'homme responsable se superposaient jadis, et l'armée rouge, en grande partie composée de tous ceux qui n'entrent pas dans ces catégories (brahmanes, femmes et adolescents) est ainsi révolutionnaire dans sa composition même, car elle ne propose pas un seul relâchement circonstanciel des règles sociales, mais les transgresse de manière organisée. Le mouvement maoïste propose peut-être là une très profonde réforme sociale, une sorte d'inversion, mettant en place une organisation guerrière où se forment les rapports de force qui régissent la société (tout en tenant compte partiellement de la caste), là où celle-ci reproduisait ceux qui étaient institués par le système de caste, tout en leur apportant une souplesse.

Le statut de caste des chefs maoïstes, tous deux brahmanes, représente néanmoins une entrave à l'idéologie de la « Guerre du Peuple ». Ni guerriers, ni issus du peuple, ils confèrent une place essentielle à la "Pensée ", érigeant, face au vaste corps quasi organique que constituent le souverain et son armée, une organisation où chacun s'engage à titre individuel, et où purification et autocritique permettent de garder une distance entre théorie et action, entre leaders et activistes.

C'est aussi en vertu de son caractère sacrificiel que la guerre forme un contexte placé hors normes. Le sacrifice guerrier n'est pas une substitution entre sacrifiant et victime, comme dans la théorie brahmanique, mais une alternative: tuer ou être tué. Avec l'idéologie maoïste, la mise à mort perd son caractère d'alternative réciproque: l'une est anoblie, magnifiée, l'autre est niée ou méprisée. L'asymétrie du sens de la mort est un des traits qui distinguent radicalement la Guerre du Peuple de celles qui l'ont précédée, introduisant la nouvelle figure du "martyr" (shahid), là où jadis s'affrontaient des "héros" (bir).

La révolution maoïste au Népal a ceci de particulier qu'elle se déroule à l'ère d'internet et semble être « surinformée ». Toutefois, peu d'enquêtes de terrain ont été réalisées et l'on connaît assez mal la sociologie du mouvement. L'originalité de notre projet tient donc avant tout à son ancrage ethnographique, avant et après le déclenchement de la guerre, offrant une perspective d'études que peu de mouvements révolutionnaires ont connu jusqu'ici. Cet ensemble sera complété par l'analyse des mouvements politiques ou guerriers et du traitement de la violence ordinaire ou organisée au cours de l'histoire et par l'étude des publications et documents visuels maoïstes, afin d'explorer l'univers révolutionnaire populaire « de l'intérieur ».