Centre for Himalayan Studies
UPR 299
     
 
 
Members of the research unit
Barbara BERARDI TADIE

PhD student in anthropology

Contact:

UPR 299 Centre d'Etudes Himalayennes, CNRS
7 rue Guy Môquet
94800 Villejuif CEDEX
France

E-mail: bbtadie@yahoo.fr

 

Barbara Berardi Tardie is preparing a thesis on "Urban development and social dynamics in Nepal: anthropological research about the town of Pokhara". This work aims at covering the urbanisation phenomenon in contemporary Nepal, by combining approaches in social anthropology and development studies. This more specifically involves laying bare the stakes involved in socio-economic, religious and political relations associated with the emergence of an urban area in the western region of Nepal, the town of Pokhara (Kaski district).

What are the factors which, today in Nepal, determine the "birth" of a town? How and to what extent is the urbanisation phenomenon linked to the social dynamics that mark this country at the present time? Based on these questions, research will focus on the following themes:

1) the dynamics of migratory flow; 2) transformation of the relation to territory; 3) social relations in the urban environment; 4) social make-up of urban space; 5) emergence of the building of an urban identity; 6) urban economies, rural economy; 7) religious spaces; 8) town politics and administration; 9) Maoists and the town.

Key words: urban development, urban anthropology, migratory dynamics, social change, ethnic revival, religious pluralism, Maoist guerrilla

Fieldwork: Pokhara, Nepal.

Centre d'Etudes Himalayennes
UPR 299
     
 
 
Membres du Laboratoire
Barbara BERARDI TADIE

Doctorante en anthropologie

Contact  :

UPR 299 Centre d'Etudes Himalayennes, CNRS
7 rue Guy Môquet
94800 Villejuif CEDEX
France

Courriel  : bbtadie@yahoo.fr

 

Barbara Berardi Tadié a entrepris une thèse portant sur “ Développement urbain et dynamiques sociales au Népal : une recherche ethnographique sur la ville de Pokhara ” . Ce travail vise à aborder le phénomène de l'urbanisation au Népal contemporain, en combinant les approches de l'anthropologie sociale et des études sur le développement. Il s'agira, plus spécifiquement, de dégager l'enjeu des relations socio-économiques, religieuses et politiques associées à l'émergence d'une agglomération urbaine dans la région occidentale du Népal, la ville de Pokhara (district de Kaski).

Quels sont les facteurs qui déterminent, aujourd'hui au Népal, la "naissance" d'une ville? Comment et dans quelle mesure le phénomène de l'urbanisation est-il lié aux dynamiques sociales qui marquent actuellement ce pays? A partir de ces questions, la recherche sera axée sur les thèmes suivants:

1) les dynamiques des flux migratoires; 2) la transformation du rapport au territoire; 3) les relations sociales dans le milieu urbain; 4) la constitution sociale de l'espace urbain; 5) l'émergence de constructions identitaires urbaines; 6) économies urbaines, économie rurale; 7) les espaces du religieux; 8) la politique et l'administration de la ville; 9) les maoïstes et la ville.

Mots clés : développement urbain ; anthropologie urbaine ; dynamiques migratoires ; changement

social : revivalisme ethnique ; pluralisme religieux ; guérilla maoïste.

Terrains : Pokhara ; Népal.